Clancy Legacy: Robbie O’Connell, Aoife Clancy & Dónal Clancy

Debut album from three members of the famed Clancy family. Robbie O’Connell, Aoife Clancy and Dónal Clancy , all first cousins, first performed together at a workshop called The Clancy Legacy during the New York Irish Arts Week 2006—an appropriate appellation as they continue the long family tradition of music, song and poetry that made the Clancy Brothers a household name.

CD ONLY – $17.50
includes Shipping & Handling

Also visit Clancy Legacy Website – MySpace

Track Listing:

  1. A Jug of Punch
  2. Ho Re Ho Ro
  3. Breton Tune/ Lillies in the Field/The Limestone Rock
  4. The Gallant Forty Twa
  5. The Verdant Braes of Skreen
  6. The Banks of the Roses
  7. Let No Man Steal Your Thyme
  8. The Flower of Kilkenny
  9. Sliabh Geal gCua/Maud Miller of Carrigaholt
  10. Soldier, Soldier
  11. Quare Bungle Rye


  1. CMS says:

    I approached this album with trepidation. How can anyone better the contribution of Liam, Tom, Bobby and Tommy? Looking at the track listing my trepidation grew. The eleven tracks on offer were mainly ones we associate with the original group. 
I need not have feared. From the first notes of the first track “A Jug of Punch” I knew I was in a new era, a new tradition and in for a great listening experience. These three truly professional performers carrying the incomparable Clancy gene have produced the next evolutionary step in Irish and indeed international folk music.
 Probably realising that few could better the rousing renditions of our traditional songs they have produced an album of much sweeter and in many ways more beautiful songs. “A Jug of Punch” sung in a more laid back style makes a completely new song and one where, like so many other tracks on offer here, we can more fully appreciate the lyrics in their intricate beauty.
Aoife gives a lovely performance on “The Gallant Forty Twa,” ably assisted by Robbie and Dónal on backing. The “Verdant Braes of Skreen” has pitched up on numerous albums in recent years but even listening to the lovely guitar introduction I knew this was the ultimate rendition—for now at least. The performance is so gentle and yet powerful and the diction crystal clear. It is an absolute joy to hear.
 The album is worth purchasing for the wonderful “Let No Man Steal Your Thyme.” This is not the more familiar version but it is outstanding and I implore the radio stations to give it airtime. This CD features many songs that you will have loved when performed by what I suppose we might call the original Clancys but I guarantee that this new generation singing “The Banks of the Roses,” “Ho Re Ho Ro,” “Quare Bungle Rye” and “Soldier, Soldier” will give you new heart. The songs are here fresh and just familiar enough to stir memories.
Robbie O’Connell, already renowned for his solo work, has done something very unusual on some tracks. Where so often singers have taken traditional songs and added new lyrics, he turns it on its head and puts new music to some established lyrics.
– Nicky Rossiter, Irish Music Magazine

  2. CMS says:

    Pour qui s’intéresse un tant soit peu à la musique irlandaise, nul ne saurait ignorer les Clancy Brothers, qui ont marqué par leurs chansons les scènes irlandaises et américaines durant plus de quarante ans. Et l’on ne compte plus les albums enregistrés par ces quatre frères (Paddy, Tom, Bobby et Liam), soit en famille, soit avec Tommy Makem ou encore Robbie O’Connell. Depuis leur disparition, est organisés chaque année dans le comté de Tipperary, leur region d’origine, un festival qui leur est entièrement dédié.

    Aujourd’hui, la génération suivante prend la relève. Et à l’occasion d’un festival à New York en 2006, trois cousins ont eu l’idée de se réunir pour interpréter les chansons de leurs pères sous le nom de The Clancy Legacy. Robbie O’Connell (l’uns des neveux), Aoife (fille de Bobby) et Dónal (fils de Liam) proposent un superbe album sure lequel on retrouve avec plaisir quelques-uns de titres popularisés par leurs pères et oncles. Tous trois chantent et jouent qui de la guitare, qui du bodhrán, qui du bouzouki ou du whistle. Ils ont fait appel à quelques amis parmi lesquels Oisín McAuley (Danú), George Keith (fidèle), Shannon Heaton (flûte) et Derek Pisano (claviers). Aux côtés des chansons populaires, quelques instrumentaux traditionnels arrangés par Dónal, excellent guitariste.

    À signaler également la brillante interprétation de The Gallant Forty Twa par une Aoife dotée d’un beau brin de voix. Ainsi, cinquante-six ans après leur première apparition publique, les frères Clancy revivent par enfant interposés.

    For those interested in a little bit of Irish music, no one can ignore the Clancy Brothers, who were noted for their songs of Irish and American scenes for over forty years. And there are countless albums recorded by the four brothers (Paddy, Tom, Bobby and Liam), as a family, or with Tommy Makem or Robbie O’Connell. Since their disappearance, a festival dedicated to them is held each year in County Tipperary, their original home.

    Today, the next generation takes over. At a festival in New York in 2006, three cousins ​​had the idea to come together to interpret the songs of their fathers under the name of The Clancy Legacy. Robbie O’Connell (a nephew), Aoife (daughter of Bobby) and Donal (son of Liam) offer a superb album in which one finds, with pleasure, titles popularized by their fathers and uncles. All three sing and play guitar, the bodhrán, bouzouki or whistle. They invited a few friends among whom are Oisín McAuley (Danú), George Keith (true), Shannon Heaton (flute) and Derek Pisano (keyboards). Amongst the popular songs are some traditional instrumentals arranged by Dónal, an excellent guitarist.

    Also of note is the brilliant interpretation of The Gallant Forty Twa by Aoife, who has a lovely voice. Thus, fifty-six years after their first public appearance, the brothers Clancy are revived by their descendants.
    – Phillipe Cousin, Traditional Music Magazine


  1. […] new Clancy Legacy CD is now available at the Celtica Music Shop and downloads are available at iTunes and CD […]

Speak Your Mind

You must be logged in to post a comment.